Lay of the Waves

Lay of the Waves
  • Ruthie Dornfeld -vielle

  • Shulamit Kleinerman -vielle

  • Kane Mathis -kora

  • Christos Govetas -bendir

  • Ben Thomas -vibes

  • Glenn Jones -banjo

  • Ronnee Fullerton -bass viol

  • Dorothy Shapiro -viola

  • Terry Wergeland -accordion

  • Becca Baggenstoss -percussion

This CD features my original music for vielle, the 5 string medieval fiddle. When first encountering the vielle I was struck by its distictive voice - soft, deep, textured, and resonant. Many of the traditional fiddle tunes I already knew suited it well, and medieval music was a natural, of course. But the idea of making new music specifically for the instrument piqued my interest, as well as setting it in a variety of contexts, rather than limiting it to the "early music" genre. Grants from Artist Trust and Jack Straw Productions helped me get the project going, and so did the talents and support of the many wonderful musicians who recorded with me.

  1. Processional
  2. Hop Five
  3. On the Siskiyou Trail
  4. Cobalt & Saffron/ Saltarello
  5. Lay of the Waves
  6. Reverie sur Loire
  7. Nokkedansen
  8. Queen City Strut
  9. A Cloud Passed
  10. La Saint-Sylvestre
  11. When Dry Leaf Falls
  12. The Last Word
  13. Estampie
  14. Gift of Myrrh